The “Stuff”

I keep getting lots of private messages about what to expect from the various classes/meetings/etc that you will have to do if you get convicted or plead down. (Yes, you often have to do everything a person convicted of DUI has to do whether or not you were actually convicted.) The only time you don’t have to do these things is if you get off scott-free and sometimes, even if you do eventually get off, a good lawyer will have you working on these things “just in case” before your official trial date. 

The average DUI offender is facing community service, MADD VIP, DUI Risk Reduction School, Drug and Alcohol Eval, and probation. Don’t panic! I am here to tell you what to expect!

Community Service: I received 40 hours which is the bare minimum in the state of GA. I completed mine at a local pet shelter that allows people needed to satisfy community service hours to work alongside their volunteers. My experience with them was pretty easy in terms of logistics. They asked that you attend an “orientation” which lasted maybe 30 minutes during which time they explained how to sign up for days/hours, what activities you’d be expected to do at each “job” (there were three different jobs to pick from). Ultimately, no matter where you were, you were mostly cleaning. Cleaning cages, cleaning dogs, cleaning bowls, cleaning towels, taking out the trash… cleaning the trash can. Clean clean clean. I love animals and I’ve grown up surrounded by them so poop and pee doesn’t bother me. If it bothers you, don’t work at an animal shelter. If you’re worried about being around puppies and kittens or animals in general and getting upset or wanting to take them all home with you…. I thought I’d be a sobbing mess. I was happy to find that the staff really does a wonderful job with adoptions and with the animals that are still waiting for homes. It wasn’t sad. It was just really busy! 

The buddy of mine who had received his DUI right around when I got mine but got plead down did his with a company that offers rides to people who can’t drive. Basically he worked 12 hour shifts over night on weekends and knocked his hours out fast. He said he mostly hung out with the guy who actually worked for the company and drove that company car whenever they needed to pick someone up. (The employee drives the customer’s car.) He enjoyed his experience as well. 

Be prepared to be designated as a community service worker. At the shelter, we wore different colored aprons from the staff and volunteers. My friend with the car company had to wear a different name tag. But most of the places you’ll find to do your hours will probably cater to a lot of the same crowd… aka people who need hours. And a lot of those people will probably be there with you. Strength in numbers… you’ll be surprised how many people you run in to that have similar stories. Everyone I met was friendly and shared their experiences but there was no pressure. This was the first thing I did for my DUI so I wanted to talk to EVERYONE to try to figure out what I could expect. They were kind and helpful and made me feel like I wasn’t an outcast. 

Overall: I was exhausted at the end of the day because I chose to work long hours (11 or more) to knock it out fast. I ended up having way more time than I expected so if I had it to do over again I’d probably spread it out a little more. I got lots of cuddles from adorable little baby animals and I even got to name a few when they came in. I met lots of people in similar situations who helped me feel better and feel prepared for the road ahead. 

MADD Victim Impact Panel: I think everyone knows based on some previous statements in some earlier blog posts that I’m not a fan of MADD so my opinion on this VIP isn’t going to be good. Let me just clarify, I do not have a problem with the message of MADD when it is simply “Drunk driving kills.” It does and it’s a problem. They’ve done a lot to raise awareness but I feel like for all the steps theyve taken for the good they’ve taken two back and ended up creating what I like to call a “witch hunt” for DUI offenders. A misdemeanor is a misdemeanor and I don’t think one crime should be beat down to death with tacked on consequences… many of which ultimately fund MADD. It still, to this day, does not seem right that I can’t have this expunged and that I was not eligible for the first offenders act in my state. DUI’s are a problem. I don’t think ruining lives is a solution. Ok, off my soap box.

What to expect: They’re gonna breathalyze you and there are going to be police officers present who could arrest you if they saw fit. If you’re on probation already before you do this panel, you’re not allowed to consume alcohol AT ALL. If you blow even a .01 at this point, you’re in violation of your probation and you’re going to jail… without bond. Don’t. Fucking. Do. It. If you’re not on probation, you still probably shouldnt risk testing positive because they’ll take your checks and kick you out. I paid maybe $65 for everything and I wouldn’t want to throw away another $65 for drink. (I’ve already spent enough money on those drinks I had the night I was arrested…) Anyways, they breathalyze you in front of everyone… it’s awkward but everyone’s doing it so just blow and get it done and you can go sit in the crowd and disappear. Mine had a lovely slide show of DUI accident wreckage… no blood but still. Intermittently there would be school portraits of people who passed in DUI related accidents. Sometimes they’d post the BAC of the drunk person who caused it. Meh. 

There were easily over 75 people in my panel group and there were 4 panels a month in the county I went to… a LOT of DUI’s. No, not all of them were, but I’d guesstimate over 80% were. Everyone looked miserable and uncomfortable because I think they all were assuming the worst. It wasn’t THAT bad. Three speakers, all affected by DUI accidents in different ways, came and shared their stories. The first two speakers were kind of (don’t strike me down, Lord!) lame. While I sympathized with their loss, they both bothered me for several different reasons. I felt like the first woman tried too hard to be “cool”. I felt like she walked in and was like “I’m going to be so funny and so laid back… they’re going to love me.” I didn’t think she was funny. I thought she was awkward and it made me feel awkward… but not in the “I’m learning a lesson way.” More in a “I’m pretty sure this chick LARPs and plays table RPGs and probably wears latex elf ears at home and seduces her overweight boyfriend with “thee” and “thine” kind of talk.” I know you know the kind of person I’m talking about. Nothing against those people, actually, more power to them. And definite kuddo’s to this woman for sharing her story. It just didn’t resonate with me and, because it didn’t, I didn’t take anything away from her story. The second tried to overdo the sobbyness of her story. She would say things over and over again for what I assumed to be effect.It was like she realized that people weren’t crying and she really needed someone to cry so she kept saying irrelevant things to make it seem more sad. She often had to back track in her story to do so. I think everyone knew what she was doing and I think a lot of us kind of shut down after a certain point. The third was a sweet little old man who stated his story simply and in a matter of fact way. I appreciated this so much after the first two. No gimmicks, no opinions, just straight up “here’s my story…” 

I am heavily biased against MADD and walked into the panel angry. While I am typically the biggest baby in the world, I felt emotionless during this panel and I don’t feel it taught me anything. I don’t think it should be part of sentencing because I think it contributes to an organization that has lost track of it’s original goal and now does more harm than good. 

Expect to be there at least 30 minutes early and to leave 30 minutes later.

DUI School: I lucked out with my DUI school and instructor. They were so wonderful. We got baked goods and snacks and delicious drinks for the whole weekend. The people in my class were cool but a lot of them looked pretty rough. A surprising amount of them were repeat offenders. It was a nice reminder outside of my jail experience about who I was and who I  want to be. That’s not a judgement on their character. That’s a judgement on myself. 

I believe the whole class takes 24 hours which will be split up over 3 days. The classes are long and can get realllllyyyyyy boring. You’ll have a workbook and you’ll go through it over the course of the class and fill everything out. It’s meant to be a tool to help you reflect on literally everything. Answer honestly because they don’t check them or keep them. It really can be beneficial… at least parts of it can. The instructor never forced us to answer if we didn’t want to but participation is highly encouraged and there really isn’t any judging… While it was long and drawn out, I found this the most… dare I say… enjoyable thing I did after community service. 

Drug and Alcohol Eval: I don’t think I can be much help with this. I went to someone based off my friend’s recommendation. I ended up in an older office complex where I once went to get some reallly awful eyelash extensions. I should’ve known the second I saw that address but I had the last minute appointment and I needed to get it done. I didn’t think the woman I spoke with was professional. At one point I’m pretty sure she tried to bribe me. But I got through it with no recommendations for anything other than DUI School and I saved a tiny bit of money… The whole bribe thing is now kind of the shining example of how I feel about DUIs in the legal system… it’s all about the money, honey. 

Apparently, in other evals you’ll be drug tested and possibly breathalyzed. I was not. 

These people are the ones who often recommend things like AA meetings or even anger management type things. 

This is the one that I felt like a lot of online google search results ended up with folks telling me I should lie my way through this meeting. On one hand… having an alcoholic family member could be enough to get extra meetings tacked on…. on the other… this is where you’re supposed to be flagged if you actually need help. This is one of those tread  carefully and think through what you say and do. Don’t be careless and assume they’re just going to look over a slip of the tongue. You will be meeting with them for almost an hour and lies are hard to maintain for that long. If, in the back of your mind, you are worried that you might have a problem… PLEASE just be honest. These are the kind of people that can get you care and actual help. 

Probation: Well. They schedule your first meeting at your trial and you can’t really do much about the day or time and it sucks. I ended up having to take a sick day. But after your first meeting you get to pick your days and times which is nice. I was late to my appointment due to traffic and my officer wasn’t exactly thrilled with me and she definitely made a point to say something when I got in there.I was there for a little over an hour including wait time. The meeting itself went pretty fast because I came prepared. (I had all of my paperwork with me.) She basically just tried to drive home the idea that if I get caught with anything in my system that I go to jail. Also that if I get caught drinking (not drinking and driving… just straight up drinking… ever) that I’d go to jail. Apparently going to jail on probation means you don’t get bond which means you’re stuck in there until the judge decides to see you. She also mentioned how I could be drug tested at any of our meetings but I didn’t end up getting tested that day. You have to pay for the urine test and she made sure to mention that someone would be in the bathroom with me while I filled the cup. Not looking forward to that but I guess I’ll just wear a big billowy dress. :S

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

At the end of the day, none of the above was as scary as I expected. It all costs more money than it should and takes up a lot of time but once you’re in there just sit back and take it all in. If I can make it through it, you definitely can!

4 thoughts on “The “Stuff”

  1. I found your blog when I really really needed to. I was feeling overwhelmed and like it was the end of the world. Thank you for this blog, I am not sure if you still check this but wanted to say that. Obviously, I was aware of all shitstorm headed my way, but you helped me put it into perspective and gave me a sense of calm. Thanks again.

    • I’m sorry I’m only just now responding. I’m happy you found my blog! Obviously it is doing exactly what I intended… I hope you understand that, while it feels overwhelming and hopeless right now, there is a light at the end of the tunnel. Just get through court, pay your fines, and get through your year of nonsense punishments and you’re home free. Your day is coming when this is all just a distant memory! Thanks for the comment! It makes me happy to know I was of some help! 🙂 Good luck with your case!

      • I was never randomly tested. I doubt they ever get too hard core with first time offenders who are following their conviction terms and didn’t have any issues come back on the eval. People who were identified as having serious drinking problems or have had alcohol related arrests in the past probably do have random testing. I think as long as you don’t give your PO a reason to think you’re not be having you should be fine.

Leave a comment